Tags

Hi friends.  After reading so many posts lately on writing query letters and behind years of struggling to get mine written just right, I wanted to share my final design with you.  For those who write, I really don’t need to tell you how important this document is in regards to pitching your work.  No matter what your work is about, I have found there are certain simple rules that one must always follow.  Keep it simple, direct, and one page only.  Introduce yourself and your submission.  Tell what your work/submission is about, (usually a blurb).  Speak about your writing history and accomplishments.  And then close.  For those who still struggle with this, I sincerely hope my example will be of help.  Best wishes. ~ Tracy J.

* * *

Dear (Agent, Editor, Publisher, Producer) BY NAME

Greetings.  My name is Tracy James Jones and I am an independent author, blogger, book reviewer from Dallas and Waxahachie, Texas.  I am writing to request permission to submit my 60,000 word, multicultural, romantic drama novel, “Secrets & Lies,” for possible representation.

 “Sometimes a need for keeping secrets…

Can be just as intriguing as a reason for telling lies…”

  “Secrets & Lies” is an uncensored, character-driven, emotional journey into the private lives of four central characters and their desperate struggles to survive in the shadows of life-altering secrets and lies. At the heart of the story is a beautiful transgender woman of color who questions her personal worth as she fights to keep the life and love she has always wanted. Even the elements of true confessions get lost in translation as the details of who these people really are brings them together in a surprising, yet necessary finale that will change their lives forever…

In addition to my writing, I am also a reader for various novel award events that include the Rainbow Novel Awards, The RONE` Awards (Romance Novel), and the HuffPost 50 Memoir Novel Contest. My work has been featured on a number of sites and blogs, including The Huffington Post, and one of my short stories, “The Crush,” was requested by the International Baccalaureate Organization to add to their Middle Years Education Program, language and literature teacher support material. This story will be available to classrooms around the world for the next seven years, with French and Spanish translations pending.  My extended social media networks include my blog, Facebook, Pinterest & Twitter.

In closing, I sincerely hope this information will enlighten you to consider taking me on as a client. Thank you so much for your time spent in reviewing my query and I look forward to hearing back from you at your earliest convenience. Have a great day.

Sincerely,

Tracy James Jones

Email

Phone Number

