Tags

, ,

I have to say that there are a lot of amazingly talented people out there just waiting to take the world by storm, and I am getting to meet so many of them, first hand. (Thrilling!) My guest today wears many hats when it comes to fulfilling her dreams and she is absolutely remarkable.  I read so much about her from so many different sources, that I am a bit sad that I cannot share it all with you.  I am nearly speechless as I introduce her.  She is, Dee Dee M. Scott.

 “About the Author”

Pub2004  Dee Dee M. Scott is an author, Screenwriter, playwright, director and producer. Scott also wrote, produced and directed, My Husband’s Woman-The Stage Play, which played for two shows at: The Town Theater on November 27, 2011 and toured South Carolina. Currently, Scott is producing and directing her first film: Lake House, which she also wrote. It will be released to select theaters in the summer of 2013. Her magazine entitled “Optimistic” launched in December of 2012. The magazine focuses on celebrating life, and self-improvement.

Dee Dee M. Scott was born and raised in Florence, South Carolina. Scott worked as a first grade teacher before becoming a full time writer and the publisher at:  Ahsyad Publications.

Dee Dee is the CEO of: A DDMS ENTERTAINMENT, where she runs: Ahsyad Publications, A Raw Productions, A DDMS Theater Production, and A D & D Films. She is also the founder of Joseph & Kathy Gregg’s Child, a nonprofit, which she named after her parents, who both passed away from cancer.  Through Joseph & Kathy Gregg’s child, some of the proceeds from her productions and books are donated to, American Cancer Society, and are also used in programs that teach theater to children, and teens. Scott is also the founder of (AOTR) Authors On The Rise, an online blog and website dedicated to promoting authors and their books.

How long have you been writing?

I have been writing since the age of six. It was something I always did. By the time I was a teenager, I was writing poetry and performing in front of audiences. I wrote my first book after my husband brought me a computer to stop me from taking up space in our closets with the notebooks of stories that I had hand written.

What was your life like before becoming an author?

I would stay up half the night writing and reading, and get up early in the morning to teach first grade students. I loved working with my students, but my heart was with writing.

Who or what inspired you to write?

I was inspired by the people who were reading my handwritten stories. They loved them and wanted to read more. After my husband brought me my computer, that pushed me to write even more. After I published my first book, people were telling me that they could not put the book down. That inspired me to keep writing and doing what I do.

Do you have a specific writing style or genre?

I write in many genres, but my favorite is Psychological horror. I do not write a story in a way that it has been written before.  I always find a way to tell a story in a fresh, innovative way.

Tell me about your latest book?  What’s it about?

Publication2

 

My Husband’s Woman (Volume 1)

Amazon US: http://amzn.com/0615327125

My Husband’s Woman is a story about a young, naïve woman named Meshia who becomes involved with Byron, a married attorney eighteen years her senior. The affair causes his wife Alexandra to slowly break down and both Meshia and Byron find themselves in a position that they never saw coming.

 

What was your favorite part of the book to write?

The twist that I added to My Husband’s Woman. People still email me about it to this day.

What was the hardest part to write?

The story was in my head for a while before I wrote it. So it really flowed. However, I did take the time to make sure that every character had their own distinct personality and that the dialogue and everything else about them was realistic.

What do you find most rewarding in writing a book?

The emails from people saying how much my book touched them, and meeting people at my stage plays who get mad or cheer on a character. Knowing that the audience connected with the characters, and that the story emotionally touched them, means a lot to me.

Do you have any other books complete or in progress?

I wrote ten of my books years ago. I will release them throughout 2013-2015

What are your future plans in regards to writing?

Being that I am a playwright and filmmaker, I plan to turn most of my books into movies or either stage plays. I also have some very talented authors signed to my publishing company Ahsyad Publications, and will be working with them to produce their books into films too.

Are you listed on the major social networks like facebook, twitter, etc…

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Author-Dee-Dee-M-Scott-BookReaders/127946103924967

http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Stage-Play-My-Husbands-Woman/105859049511050

Twitter  * LinkedIn  * Goodreads

What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?

Lose the naysayers. If you have a talent, if you have a dream, surround yourself with like-minded people who will uplift and support you. Negative people are Cancer. They will destroy you and steer you away from your dreams, if you let them. You have to stay free of as much negativity as possible. You also have to study, work hard and stay focused on your path. You can’t drive a car and worry about where the next car is going or you will crash. You have your own road to travel and you have to stay focused on it. Lastly, protect your dreams and surround yourself with people who believe in you and your vision.

Outside of writing, what is your most favorite thing to do and why?

I spend time with my family. We are very close and they are my biggest support system.

Anything else you would like to add for future fans and friends?

560738_3400635873837_1701732910_n

I want to thank them for supporting me with my books and stage plays. I hope you will come out to see my movie- Lake House, which will be released to select theaters in 2013. You won’t be disappointed!

———–

You are truly an inspiration, Dee Dee. Thank you so much for allowing me to introduce you and your fantastic story and future plans with my friends.  Aside from checking out your book(s), should your film(s) land in my area I will be thrilled to see them. Best wishes to your success.

