Tags

My guest today is a young Children’s Author/Teacher from Spain.  Like so many great artistic minds, I met her though other Indie Author friends online.  I also had the pleasure of showcasing her book during the holidays and it is my honor to continue my work in support of Indie Authors as I turn this interview over to her.  She is Cinta Garcia de la Rosa.

website pic  “About the Author”

I am Spanish, and I have always been obsessed about writing and reading. I have also loved learning languages, so I decided to study English at university, and so I got my BA in English Studies. Nowadays, I struggle to combine both my day job as an English teacher and my night passion, writing stories.

How long have you been writing?

Oh, I think I have been writing all my life, either stories or journals. I just can’t finish a day without having written at least a couple of sentences.

What was your life like before becoming an author?

It was pretty much the same, but with a bit more of free time LOL

Who or what inspired you to write?

When I was 5, I was given The Wizard of Oz. I learnt to read by myself by using that book and Sesame Street. Well, when I managed to read the whole book, I decided I also wanted to write stories like that. And thus I started writing silly tales.

Do you have a specific writing style or genre?

I mainly write short stories. I am focusing now on writing children’s stories, but I don’t consider myself a writer of a certain genre. I like experimenting.

Tell me about your latest book?  What’s it about?

Cover ArtThe Funny Adventures of Little Nani

https://www.createspace.com/3914481

My latest and first book is called The Funny Adventures of Little Nani, and it is about a little girl who wants to be a witch. It is a collection of ten short stories for children. This is the blurb:

Little Nani is a little girl who likes helping people. However, when she helps people the results can be a bit unexpected. Why is that? Little Nani is a witch! Or at least she wants to be a witch. With her magic wand, she will try to cast different spells to help her friends, but she won’t be successful all the time. Follow Little Nani in her funny adventures and meet her extraordinary friends. Funny ostriches, horses that love reading, super-fast turtles, grumpy zombies,… Little Nani has lots of friends! You can also draw your own characters! Little Nani is willing to become a good witch. Will she manage to do it? Who knows? Read the stories and discover what happens next!

What was your favorite part of the book to write?

I don’t have a favorite part of the book. My book is made by different short stories and all of them were equally funny to write 😀

What was the hardest part to write?

The blurb! Seriously, I am terrible at having to summarise something 😀

What do you find most rewarding in writing a book?

The fact of knowing that somewhere around the world there must be someone smiling while reading my stories.

Do you have any other books complete or in progress?

 I am writing the second volume in the Little Nani series, as well as some stand-alone stories, all of them featuring Little Nani. These stand-alone stories will be “choose-your-own-adventure” books, and I hope my readers find them funny.

What are your future plans in regards to writing?

 My only plan is never give up writing. I would really like to write at least 5 books in the Little Nani series, but that all depends on the readers’ response.

Are you listed on the major social networks like facebook, twitter, etc…

 Yes, whoever interested in contacting me, since I am always happy to meet new people and talk to readers and authors equally, can find me in the following links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cintaenglish

Facebook (Author page): https://www.facebook.com/pages/Cinta-Garc%C3%ADa-de-la-Rosa-Author/333755993341596

Twitter: https://es.twitter.com/CintaGarciaRosa

Blogs: http://cintascorner.weebly.com /  http://cintascorner.wordpress.com

Website: http://www.cintagarciadelarosa.com

Goodreads:http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6470058.Cinta_Garc_a_de_la_Rosa

What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?

Write every day, read every day, talk to both readers and other writers (you can learn a lot by doing that, trust me), write a blog and build your audience, and find a good editor (this is of the utmost importance). Oh, and believe in yourself. If you believe in what you write, you will find the way to be published, and readers will love your work.

Outside of writing, what is your most favorite thing to do and why?

My most favorite thing to do outside of writing is reading, but since it is related to writing, I will say cooking. I love cooking because I find it relaxing. While I am in my kitchen, cooking, listening to music, and silly dancing, I don’t think of anything else. I cook to relax and so new ideas can come to my head 😀

Anything else you would like to add for future fans and friends?

Only that if they feel like big kids at heart, no matter how old you are, you will enjoy my Little Nani stories. Trust me, I am not saying this just because I am the author. I truly believe that my stories have the power to make people smile, and that’s one of my main purposes in life. Apart from that, I would like to encourage future fans and friends to contact me and talk. I love hearing from readers and fans, I always listen to their suggestions and opinions, and it is a great way for us to grow as better writers.

Thanks, Tracy, for inviting me over to your blog and for giving me the opportunity of talking a bit more about myself and my book. It has been great. Thanks!

________

Thank you too, Cinta, for sharing your story.  It was a pleasure to showcase you and your work.  All my best to you.

