How do I introduce a multi-talented/multi-media powerhouse under the age of thirty?  I just don’t know.  With all of her accomplishments, including several books, tours, radio show, charitable work, and more, I wouldn’t know where to begin.  For just a quick glimpse into her world I will happily turn the page over to her.  She is Tamika Newhouse.

top1

“About the Author”

Born and raised in Fort Worth, Texas and upon graduation I moved to San Antonio and studied education. I dropped out of college a year after launching my publishing company at the age of 21.

 

How long have you been writing?

I began writing at the age of eight since I could form a sentence. I publishing my first book at 21, “The Ultimate No-No,” a book I wrote when I was 20.

What was your life like before becoming an author?

Pretty basic. (lol.) I was a mother, I was a wife, and I stayed home much of my days as a home maker and a student. Weeks would go by and I wouldn’t step out the house, just a notorious homebody for sure. Life didn’t begin for me until I started to live out my purpose.

Who or what inspired you to write?

Terry McMillan, Demetria Lucas, a very popular columnist and author, and my mother Delphine Jamison.

Do you have a specific writing style or genre?

I write romance that is always laced with drama. I can never tell a story of a perfect love because that doesn’t exist.

Tell me about your latest book?  What’s it about?

9780984692392“Kisses Don’t Lie 2″

Amazon: http://amzn.com/B00ASDCOOE

After moving on from her first love Dean, Kyla finds love with his brother Chris. But when Chris relocates to make a new life for them he discovers lies that could break Kyla’s heart but could finally get rid of Keith, Kyla’s current boyfriend. Forced to protect her and keep the lies a secret, Chris’s choice to be quiet can ruin his chance at love with Kyla. Meanwhile Brittany is prepping to have Michael’s baby that is until an unlikely visitor claims she is the one Michael is with when he is not with her. When Chance returns to mend a friendship lost because of lies, Brittany finds comfort in the arms of Chance; the man who once held her heart and her relationship with Michael is put to the ultimate test.

What was your favorite part of the book to write?

I have never been asked this. To me I love writing the beginning of the characters story. Because I write in first person means the character is talking directly to the reader. This is their first initial introduction and I have to make sure that they are interesting to the reader.

What was the hardest part to write?

Sometimes getting started can be tuff because you have to pull that reader in from the very first page.

What do you find most rewarding in writing a book?

When my readers contact me and talk about my characters like they are real people.

Do you have any other books complete or in progress?

Yes I am writing on “Cookie Too” and “The Ultimate No-No 4.”

What are your future plans in regards to writing?

I plan to launch another book series and continue to publish multiple books per year.

Are you listed on the major social networks like facebook, twitter, goodreads, etc…

Facebook: BossLadyTamikaNewhouse

Twitter @TamikaNewhouse

Goodreads: Tamika Newhouse

Instagram: @BossLadyTamika

http://www.tamikanewhouse.com/

What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?

We write, yes, but that’s the easy part. 80% of this business is marketing so get to know it and adapt.

Outside of writing, what is your most favorite thing to do and why?

Watch TV because through the tube I can still escape everyday life and just relax.

Anything else you would like to add for future fans and friends?

 I am also a Publisher at Delphine Publications – www.DelphinePublications.com

———-

Tamika, thank you so much for this interview.  I have to say that I am totally awe-struck by you and your achievements.  As a new fan, and friend, I will gladly follow where you lead.  Thank you again for taking the time to share your story and best wishes for everything you set your heart to do.

