As another first for the New Year, (three weeks in – I know), I am happy to open the stage to author interviews.  My guest today, one that is growing on me as a friend and outstanding colleague, is someone I met through friends and other social outlets.  I had the opportunity to showcase her amazing work during the past holiday season and it is my honor to share her story with you.  She is, Amber Jerome-Norrgard.

 IMG063“About the Author” 

I was born in Pennsylvania, then moved to Kansas, then to Oklahoma City, and finally to the North Dallas Texas, where I’ve lived since I was twelve. I’ve done about every job you can imagine, and have yet to figure out what I want to do when I grow up….

 

How long have you been writing?

I’ve always written. At the end of my ninth grade year, my English teacher pulled me aside, handed me a couple of composition notebooks and said to me, “You have a gift. You need to write every day, even if its just the words ‘I can’t think of anything to write’” I’ve followed her advice (for the most part!) ever since.

What was your life like before becoming an author?

Before I became an author? I was a stay at home mom to three kids, the youngest two who are only eighteen months apart. My life was very busy, but in a much different way than it is now.

Who or what inspired you to write? Life.

Do you have a specific writing style or genre?

A year ago, the answer to this question would have been “poetry”. Now? I dabble.  I’ve written autobiographical essays, poetry, short story fiction and erotica.

 Tell me about your latest book?  What’s it about?

Waxing Poetic -The 2012 Collected Poetry Works of Amber Jerome~Norrgard

Waxing Poetic: The 2012 Collected Poetry Works of Amber Jerome~Norrgard 

Amazon: http://amzn.com/148124020X

Smashwords

“Waxing Poetic” is actually a collection of the three poetry books I published in 2012: “The Color of Dawn”, “In the Gloaming”, and “11:59 p.m.” When I was getting ready to release “11:59 p.m.” several people asked me to put together a collection of all my poetry, since they had their favorite poems, but none were in the same book.  So I figured, why not, and put them together. It was the first book I’ve released under my own publishing house, 629 Publications, so I was very excited to be able to do that.

What was your favorite part of the book to write?

The forewords for “In the Gloaming” and “11:59 p.m.” are very special to me.

What was the hardest part to write?

Empty” from “Gloaming” and “Gently” from “11:59”

What do you find most rewarding in writing a book?

Getting the work out of my head and onto the page. In regards to poetry, this is sometimes almost impossible since I have to hand-write it out. I can’t seem to actually sit down and write poetry on my computer.

 Do you have any other books complete or in progress?

“9:17 a.m./p.m.”, which is a collection of autobiographical essays, “Dreaming of Autumn, Book Two of the Miracles Trilogy” which is an autobiographical account from my journals when I was pregnant with my second child, and “Searching for Ellen”, which is the autobiographical account of my search for my biological mother, a book I’ve been writing for thirteen years. I’m also working on a poetry anthology with Scott Morgan, Robert Zimmermann, and Ben Ditmars, three fellow indie authors I admire the hell out of, called “Four Paws”, which will be published with the intent of all proceeds going to a charity (to be named). I’m always writing poetry, so when I get enough poems written, I’ll release another collection. Could be a month, could be six months.

What are your future plans in regards to writing?

I’ll always write, and I’ll always promote and support other indie authors. Writing is as necessary to me as breathing.

Are you listed on the major social networks like facebook, twitter, goodreads, etc…

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorAmberJeromeNorrgard?ref=hl

Twitter: @ambernorrgard

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5815310.Amber_Jerome_Norrgard

What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?

Start yesterday. If you want something, whether its to become published, a doctor, a teacher, a mother, go for it until you get it.

Outside of writing, what is your most favorite thing to do and why?

Sitting at my favorite coffee shop just talking with friends. I’m very much at peace doing that. We don’t talk about anything in particular, we just sit back and let the conversation go where it goes.

Anything else you would like to add for future fans and friends?

Thank you for your support. Without readers? Indie authors wouldn’t be where we are.

————-

Thank you too, Amber, for sharing your story.  On a personal note, I am seriously looking forward to meeting and hanging out with you in person later this year.  Being that we are both in Dallas, Texas, we have to meet earlier on just for fun.  :o)  Big hugs to you and best wishes on your success.

