Author Spotlight: Jeff Dawson

About the Author:

I spent the last twenty-five years in road construction. Major back surgery in 2010 put a damper on that career. In 2009 I reunited with my high school sweetheart who tragically passed July of the same year. Her cancer returned with a vengeance. I was thoroughly crushed with her loss. It took a year before I sat down and wrote about our shared love. Since then I have written and self-published six books. Two baseball coaching manuals, two auto-biographies, a short humorous story about being a single parent, an erotic short story collection and the current novel Occupation.

I currently have four books in the work.

I live in the DFW area and spend my free time with my family and grandchildren.

How long have you been writing?

On and off for the past forty years. My first attempt was a play I wrote for a talent show in Junior High. It was a spoof on ‘The Last Ten Days of Hitler,” kinda along the lines of Mel Brooks’ “The Directors.” Needless to say the school didn’t accept the submission.

What was your life like before becoming an author?

The best way I can answer that questions is referencing the speech I wrote, “Why did Everything Happen.” Life has been a bumpy road to date.

Who or what inspired you to write?

Sadly the loss of my best friend in high school rekindled the fire. He passed in 2001

Do you have a specific writing style or genre?

I would classify my style as conversational. I write the stories as if I was sitting down and describing it to someone. Genre? Nope. I have written Erotica to Baseball Manuals to WWII/Vampires. Kind of covers a broad spectrum.

Tell me about your latest book.

Occupation:  http://amzn.com/B005XA1FZQ

 That would be Occupation. I combined two of the most evil forces that walked the Earth, vampires and the The Third Reich. This is the current blurb I use: Are you ready for vampires to regain their standing and stop sparkling in the twilight? Are you ready for them to take on an opponent more vile, viscous and evil than themselves?  Wait no longer!

These are the vampires that filled many nightmares of old. Meet the Romanov and Boirarsky clans. They have waged a war amongst themselves for centuries over feeding rights and inconsequential issues. All of that changes when Adolf Hitler decides to expand the Third Reich and invades Poland in 1939. The Germans start shipping off their food supply to distant lands. The clans are unwillingly forced to decide if they are going to continue with their fruitless battle or combine their collective forces and take on an opponent more evil than themselves, The Third Reich!

What was your favorite part of the book to write?

That would be the chapter where the clans are melded together. It was, to say the least, a bit tense as all of the members were forced to watch Nicole and Dmitri cement the bond. One reviewer said poor Bella would have never survived such an encounter.

What was the hardest part to write?

I forgot what chapter it is, but all of the characters were arguing and bickering for over a fortnight. I woke-up one morning and decided enough was enough. I turned on the computer and told the characters it was time to shut-up. I’d had enough and we were moving on. Reluctantly, they obliged.

What do you find most rewarding in writing a book?

It depends on the story. The two auto-biographies were done more for healing from the loved ones I watched pass on. I guess, the most rewarding part is if the stories are helpful and entertain.

Do you have any other books complete or in progress?

Yes, I have two books in the final stages where I’ve agreed to co-author. One is a book of poetry and short stories. Some of the work is very dark, but true. The other is a SCI/Fi novel. This one has been fun. We haven’t come up with a title yet, but I see it permeating somewhere on the horizon. Quick synopsis: Four Stanford graduates are starting on a much deserved vacation after six years of cracking the books. They go to Vegas and do well. Unfortunately some of the locals think the money should stay in Vegas. The kids evade their pursuers and wind-up in an abandoned military complex with a dormant time machine. They travel back to the times of Judas, JFK, The Third Reich and the moon landing. Why? You’ll have to get the book. Should be released mid-November.

Love’s True Second Chance:

http://amzn.com/B004PYDG30

 

 

 What are your future plans in regards to writing?

I’m working on a sequel to Occupation, a story about my best friend Mike and a novel surrounding the Battle of Kursk.

Are you listed on the major social networks?

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Jeff-Dawson/e/B0054DRYIO

What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?

Patience and perseverance.

Outside of writing, what is your favorite thing to do and why?

Watching and participating in baseball. It was the only sport I ever excelled in. I love being at the ballpark whether it’s catching a Ranger’s game or umpiring a Little League game. I love the sport!

Anything else you would like to add for future fans and friends?

First and foremost, buy the books if you enjoy being entertained. As noted, I believe there is something for everyone in the current catalog. One other thought, we are authors love reviews but we also enjoy feedback concerning our works. Never hesitate to contact the author and share your opinions. It helps us sharpen our skills.

