My next guest is the only author in this series that I have actually met in person.  It was during my holiday book signing event last December in my hometown of Waxahachie, Texas.  Though I had met and familiarized myself with him and his writing online, it was a welcoming surprise to find he and his wife had driven a fairly long way just to meet me.  I was honored beyond words.  For him and the kindness that he has shown to me, I am pleased to introduce him, his work, and to share his amazing story with you today.  His name is James Peercy.

 

About the Author”

I spent my early years in California (fifteen minutes from Disneyland!).  As to the effect of this experience, I can only guess, but imagination seems to make the top of the list.  My later years in Texas, I hold a BA in Computer Science with a minor in Math.  Although analytical, the creative side has to find a way out. To ease the pain, I troubleshoot computers, design websites, program code, and write.

How long have you been writing?

It began in middle school.  I picked up a book in the library called ‘To Save A Planet’ by Robert A. Heinlein.  After reading that book, I knew I had to write.  I began to write everything down: dreams, stories, and novellas.  Once I hit High School, I was writing full books.

What was your life like before becoming an author?

Before the inspiration in middle school, I had no idea what I wanted to do.  Once the vision became clear, everyone kept telling me you can’t make money being a writer, so despite the desire to write, which I did anyway, I choose a career in computer technology programming games.  Though I wrote a few games during those years, high school and then college pushed me more toward business programming.

In 1987, I graduated college and later that year found a job working in the computer field programming and troubleshooting computer issues.  In 1995, I opened my own computer business.  In 1998, we added web-design and advertising to the mix.  In 2011, I felt I had waited long enough to be published, arranged to meet with some publishers in Kentucky at a ‘Pitch The Publisher’ event, and was received well.  In 2012 my first published sci-fi short story, ‘Moon Half Full’ and my first mystery book, ‘Without A Conscious…’ came out.  With publisher’s permission, and because of my background in advertising design, I requested and was allowed to design my own book covers.

Who or what inspired you to write?

There has always been a great desire to explore and create.  The sci-fi writer Robert A. Heinlein was the catalyst to start the process.

Do you have a specific writing style or genre?

None so far.  In middle school I fell in love with sci-fi.  In high school I encountered Dungeons & Dragons and began to mix in fantasy.  It wasn’t until 2010 that I wrote my first mystery due to some research to help my father; he was diagnosed with colon cancer.  (The main character in the mystery book, ‘Without A Conscious…’ is also named after him.)  It would be safe to say I have not limited myself as to a genre, and who knows what is next.  Poetry is also something I do every day posting on my ‘storiestotell’ Facebook page and my personal page.

 Tell me about your latest book?  What’s it about? (Include purchase link)

 ‘Without A Conscious…’

http://amzn.com/B007U6J7H4

It is about a college student who wakes up one morning to find an envelope slipped under the door of his apartment.  As he opens the package, he sees pictures of his grandmother murdered.  A call immediately comes in with a strange voice asking ‘Where is it?’ and then hangs up.  The next thing he knows the FBI are knocking at his door.  Not only does he have to figure out who murdered his grandmother, but why, connecting it in with genocide and revenge against the United States of America.

There are four more planned for this series.  The titles of the five books will form a sentence which will only be complete when the last book comes out.  Of course, that won’t stop the series from continuing beyond five books.

What was your favorite part of the book to write?

The story is a grabber.  Once you start reading, the action doesn’t stop until the very end.  There is a part where Cliff saves another person from dying at the hand of a murderer.  At the end of the chapter the person is asking why this happened in the first place, and Cliff answers in startling clarity, summing up the whole thing in only a few words.  When I wrote that, it was the perfect completion to the chapter.  This is just one of many.  I also like the attraction between Cliff and Penny.  It adds an extra element – making the story even more real as Cliff struggles to deal with both heart revelations and betrayal from those closest to him.

What was the hardest part to write?

When I write a story, I know the beginning and I know end, but the middle is always a mystery for me.  There was no hard part to write; simply a revealing of human nature based upon a series of necessities to survive.  It is a fight for life with twists and turns at every corner.

What do you find most rewarding in writing a book?

 I love the unfolding of a story as it hits the pages typed, the interaction of real people in unusual circumstances, and them doing things that are believable based upon setting.  Whether it be mystery, fantasy, or sci-fi, it must have the element of believability.  And of course, it is always nice to know other people appreciate that too.

 Do you have any other books complete or in progress?

I currently have nine books already written and in the editing stage, many of which have been written through the years.  One of those books, a fantasy called ‘The Wall Outside’, is supposed to come out this fall.  It is about a couple who goes on vacation and strange things begin to happen as one is kidnapped into a magical realm.  The other must face enormous odds to get them back.

I am also currently working on finishing the edits for ‘Ivan’, a sci-fi novel about a UCT, Universal Computer Tech, that enters hostile galaxies as a day job.  Troubles wait around every corner.  And of course, I am working on the second book to follow the mystery ‘Without A Conscious…’  There are currently four more books planned, though the series will not be limited to that.

What are your future plans in regards to writing?

I must write.  Those echoes go to the core of my being.  Now that ‘Without A Conscious…’ has been published, and doing well, the skies the limit.

Are you listed on the major social networks like facebook, twitter, goodreads, etc…

I do have several Facebook pages:
http://www.facebook.com/Without.A.Conscious.by.JamesWilliamPeercy
http://www.facebook.com/TheWallOutside

http://www.facebook.com/StoriesToTellDotCom

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JamesWPeercy

A website www.jameswilliampeercy.com
A blog www.storiestotell.com
And I am on goodreads.

What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?

Do it.  Don’t wait, don’t delay, put pen to paper or fingers to keyboard and write.  If the words are in you, they will come out, and you will be all the better for it.  Once that is accomplished, don’t just sit back and wait, do whatever is necessary to get the word out.  Be creative, talk to other authors, use backdoors.  No one can make it happen but you.

Outside of writing, what is your most favorite thing to do and why?

I love spending time with my wife, family, hiking, communing with nature, and enjoying life.  Life is too short to live it stressed.

Anything else you would like to add for future fans and friends.

 Drop me a line and let me know what you think about ‘Without A Conscious…’  I love meeting people and have made many good friends all over the world.

————–

Thank you so much, James.  It is an honor to know you and to share your story.  No matter where this journey takes us, I will always be thankful for having met you.  Keep up the good work.  I promise to be right there cheering you on all the way.  My best to you, always.

