As an Indie author, I think it helps to network. One person you meet leads to another and so on. In my case, I’m blessed to be in a group where I met today’s guest.  In my experience, his kind and giving spirit can be felt by his fellow authors, time and again.  Despite the fact that we are linked in many ways, I didn’t know much about him until now.  So please join me to learn more about the author, Micheal Rivers.

 “About the Author”

 Micheal, an American author, was born in Ahoskie, North Carolina in 1953. He served his country during the Vietnam War in the USMC. Later, his travels provided over thirty years of investigating and collecting stories of the paranormal. His genres include horror and thriller with an element of paranormal in all of his novels. The Smokey Mountain Ghost Trackers of Western North Carolina was founded by him and he is the lead investigator. Micheal currently resides in the mountains of North Carolina along with the love of his life and his Boxer he fondly calls Dee Dee.

Micheal, thank you for taking the time to visit us and answer a few questions.

How long have you been writing?

More years than I care to remember, reminds me of my age. Published writings go back to the early nineties. I had a lot of my work in anthologies for awhile and went to bigger and better things so to speak. I hope there will be many more years of writing.

What was your life like before becoming an author?

Normal to say the least. I played a lot of music and traveled quite a bit. I was an avid hunter and fisherman and spent a lot of time out of doors. Once the books started to be published it left little time for anything else. The hours get crazier every year. Social media and other factors keep you moving constantly.

Who or what inspired you to write?

Alexander Dumas and Edgar Allen Poe put the bug there I guess. Ray Bradbury was my biggest inspiration in modern writers. I got lost in so many stories as a child. I always had the urge to write, and one day it became more than an urge and here we are. For me it is a never ending passion published or not.

Do you have a specific writing style or genre?

 I use the Chicago Manual of Style and I write mostly paranormal thrillers. I have written other things and I am considering crossing genre in the future. I will keep the paranormal features as well. My particular style is a crossover from other generations when the reader was placed in the story so to speak. I try to keep this theme although at times it is very difficult. One of my readers described one of the books as pleasantly archaic in style.

Tell me about your latest book?  What’s it about?

 Verliege is a story about an author who made his fame in the world of publishing by writing the truth about history. The world of Adrian Bolt shattered as his wife lay butchered on the floor of Castle Verliege. His conviction by a German court was as swift as the sword that killed her. He maintained his silence knowing his story would not be believed. Though his reputation was impeccable there was nobody willing to stand for him. Another world lay in wait for anyone living within the walls of the castle; waiting, watching, for eternity to keep the Mueller name upon its registers. There is only one world here for those who choose to stay. To enter its doors is an invitation you will not soon forget! It leaves you to answer a simple question; “Can you bargain with the dead?”  Available on Amazon  http://amzn.com/B007QOB0V6

What was your favorite part of the book to write?

The entire book was a pleasure to write. I am fond of the character Adrian Bolt in the first half because there are so many like him in life. Not for the prison part, but for having a story which is incredible for someone to visualize those things happening to them.

What was the hardest part to write?

The hardest part of Verliege to write was about the castle itself. I had to develop a castle to fit what the main character was describing. This took a combination of four different castles from four different countries to accomplish and still be able to maintain a German theme. I have to say there were times when I wanted to execute the main character myself. The design for the third floor of the castle is from a castle that no longer exists. The primary function of it was the end room which held the throne of the King. The king’s personal chambers were close to this room and I was able to utilize it with little difficulty. Using the combination of these castles I was able to configure where a hidden staircase would be located without compromising architectural design.

What do you find most rewarding in writing a book?

 The book itself and the research behind the scenes, but like a lot of other authors the social media that has to be done gets tedious and you want to get back to writing. On the other end of the spectrum it is a joy when you have made a reader’s day a little brighter. You won’t please everyone and the trolls will always be there no matter how well you write. The good always outweighs the bad.

 Do you have any other books complete or in progress?

Currently I have a new book that is on presale with Schiffer Publishing Ltd., which will be released in November. It is titled Appalachia Mountain Folklore. I am also working on the sequel to The Black Witch as well as two other titles. I am considering a release of a title out of my genre next year due to reader’s request.

What are your future plans in regards to writing?

I have a million stories stuck in my head and the list grows every day. I have at least three more to release next year that have been called for by my readers.

Are you listed on the major social networks like Facebook, twitter, Goodreads, etc…

I am listed with all of the social media outlets. You can find me on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, and several others. Just type in Micheal Rivers and I’ll be there for you. I love hearing from people concerning their questions or comments on any subject. If you just want to say hello everybody is welcome at any time.

Website and Blog http://michealrivers.com/

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/MichealRivers.Author

Twitter https://twitter.com/micheal_rivers

Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/894765.Micheal_Rivers

 Moonlight on the Nantahala

Ghosts of the North Carolina Shores 

 What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?

If you are not willing to let your private life to become public knowledge or give most of your time to complete strangers instead of your family this is not for you. The free time you had for hobbies as well as other things will go by the way to be replaced with another love….writing. Listen to the words of those who have the years in publishing. Their advice will save you from making grave mistakes that cannot be fixed once your books have been published. Keep in mind the old adage about first impressions.

Outside of writing, what is your most favorite thing to do and why?

That list is longer than anybody has time for. I enjoy things out of doors like hiking, photography, ghost hunting, Marlin fishing, I also like playing music and good movies. I like to take my mind on vacations when I can, some call that insanity. Sometimes it is nice to put the worries of the world in the closet and not let them out until you get home again. I guess the biggest thing on my list is finding things that are out of the ordinary.

Anything else you would like to add for future fans and friends.

 If you enjoy the stories of the paranormal and things that go bump in the night you may like what I have to say. For those who already have read my books and enjoyed them I thank you for reading them. I hope to give you many more stories through the years ahead for your enjoyment.

—————

Micheal, thank you so much for sharing your stories with us. I know I’ve learned more about you here and I hope my viewers have found something of interest to them as well.  And oh – Best wishes on making semi-finalist for Best Indie Book of 2012!  You deserve it!

