In the last year since my return to writing, I have met some truly wonderful and amazing people whom I can now call friends.  My next author to interview was met through a mutual friend on facebook & twitter, and I am thrilled to showcase her to all who would enjoy knowing her as much as I do.  And here she is, my friend, author Melissa Craig.

About the Author

My name is Melissa Craig and I am an Aussie girl. So G’day from Australia. I wake up every morning dying for my Nespresso coffee. I need it to kick start my day. I love to take the time in the morning to sit on my balcony and look over my view of North Queensland. I relax listening to the birds waking up while I normally take a photo of the sunrise.  I love photography, another hobby. I live near The Great Barrier Reef which helped inspired my debut novella “Plentiful Package.”

How long have you been writing?

The story first came to me February, 2011. So really I have only been writing for just over a year. I didn’t write for three months last year as work took over my life. I also let it sit as I didn’t know what I was going to do with the story, knowing that I’ve had no formal training. Yes I am a part time writer not even part time, casual. I find I never have enough hours in the day.

What was your life like before becoming an author?

I was an avid reader. I like read nearly 400 books in two years. Now I am lucky to read about 4 a month which is very sad. Any spare time I have I spend time promoting, podcasting, editing, writing or researching. Hehe.

Who or what inspired you to write?

The characters of the Simply Breathtaking Series are the one that inspired me to write. They came to me one day while I was driving and didn’t leave me alone. Once I started writing it down my mind was clear. But the next day more would come. So getting the story out of my head inspired itself. I was always worried ‘what if no more stories come’. My mentor laughed at me when I asked her. Jennifer Stevenson’s reply was “Don’t worry you are going to have a lot of stories come at once.” And gosh, they so do.

Do you have a specific writing style or genre?

 I write erotica, which totally blew me away. I had never read an erotica before I wrote one. Seriously, I read paranormal books. My story started out as a romance but on the second round of edits the characters took more of a stance. A lot more details and harsh (awesome) words came to me. Therefore it became a contemporary erotica.

Tell me about your latest book?  Whats it about? 

My Package of Paradise (Run Series)  http://amzn.com/B008RN2L9U

  My latest book is a short story called “My Package of Paradise.”  It’s an erotica with a slice of bondage. I don’t want to give too much away. This story was inspired after reading a screenplay called “Run” from my old podcast producer Stuart Bannerman. I am making it into a series as I have more of the story to unfold.  It will consist of short stories from different characters in his screenplay.  I am naming it the “Run Series” out of respect for Stuart, no it’s not a movie yet!  Gosh how cool would that be? Anyway I read his wonderful script. Scripts, actually and soon realized they are totally different to reading a book leaving out the emotional side of things. I am a very emotional person and I could feel the characters aura and saw things within the dialogue. So with Stuart’s permission he allowed me to write the story inspired from the Run screenplay. I know it is different to the way he envisioned the characters but he reads my stories first so I don’t shock him. Being that mine are erotica and the screen play is a crime story.

What was your favorite part of the book to write?

 I love all of it really, I do…the whole thing.  I had written the first 3,000 words three months ago and left it as no clear picture came to me. But then in one day last week I wrote the rest. The feelings and characters were so strong that I loved writing it and I couldn’t stop until I was done.  I think it was 4am and I had written, edited and was emailing it out to beta readers. This story was not planned at all as I am in the middle of getting the second book out for the follow on of ‘Plentiful Package.’ But when a story is so strong and the characters are so clear one needs to go with it. Just like “Plentiful Package.”

I love the beginning as it sets the scene and I think it really connects to a lot of people. I think it makes the reader want to read further putting themselves in David’s shoes (character). To recall the time they’ve wanted and yearned for someone but shouldn’t or have never been game enough to follow through with it.

What was the hardest part to write?

 I think the hardest part was the end. I cried the whole time I wrote the last page. I couldn’t stop as I put myself into the shoes of the characters and oh my gosh, I was blubbering. I don’t know where it came from but WOW!

What do you find most rewarding in writing a book?

 Um…I like the characters forming on the page in front of me. To get the story out of my head as it will play on my mind until it is. I love writing it’s my hobby. It’s relaxing and allows me to dive into a world different to my own. Yes it is different to my own. Ha ha. I don’t like editing so much but the more I write I think editing will get better.

Do you have any other books complete or in progress?

Yes, like I said before I am completing the editing of book 2 “Ample Attraction” the follow on from “Plentiful Package”. It is taking longer than I expected it was going to be another novella but it has become 50,000 words instead. Plus I want to keep true to the characters in the first book so I want it to be awesome instead of all right. I plan to release it on 31st August.

What are your future plans in regards to writing?

 I have so many more stories to get out. After “Ample Attraction” I have another novella that is nearly finished and plan to release September/October.  I have so many things to get out about 14 stories all started so it’s just a matter of time.

Are you listed on the major social networks like facebook, twitter, goodreads, etc

 Ahh yes of course. These are all very important, especially as an indie author. One of the biggest things is trying to get your name known out in the big wide world. I am lucky that I also produce a podcast with Charity Parkerson where we interview other Authors and talk all about the written word which helps. But that would not have been possible without Stuart Bannerman from ‘frompage2screen.’ So make sure you check out our podcasts on iTunes or Talkshoe. You can find all episodes via www.melissacraigauthor.wordpress.com/podcast/

What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?

 I think you should give it a go. If you don’t give it a go you will never know. Gosh I was going to be happy if I only had 3 sales a year.  It doesn’t matter if you make 3, 30, 300, 3000 or more sales a year. You did it because you love writing and I think anyone has a potential to do it. Don’t do it for the money do it because a muse comes to mind.

Outside of writing, what is your most favorite thing to do and why?

 I love watching movies. If I am not writing I am watching movies. I was bad earlier this year as I started watching around 10 movies a week instead of writing. But sometimes we need time to recoup and relax. So movies and catching up on TV shows is my all-time favorite guilty pleasure. The other thing is I like to get in the car and drive. With the roof open and feel the breeze in my hair, the sun on my back and just drive absorbing myself in the beautiful day.

Anything else you would like to add for future fans and friends.

  Check out Plentiful Package and other books available on Kobo, Amazon, iTunes, Smashwords and more. All links to my books can be found on my web page. www.melissacraigauthor.wordpress.com or you can like my fan page on www.facebook.com/MelissaCraigFan  follow me on twitter on @MelissaKCraig. I can’t wait to meet you.  Enjoy my books any way you can!

————

Thank you, Melissa!  You are a wonderful person to know and I look forward to everything you do.  Keep up the good work.  I imagine your fans can hardly wait for what you will share with them next.  Big hugs and warm wishes for all of your future success.

