I am so happy to say how thrilling it is to have made friends with so many wonderful and talented authors.  What makes this so worthwhile is learning more about each person and the journey that led them to become writers.  On this special day I want to introduce another amazing friend.  Her name is Marla Heller Blowers.

About the Author”

I was raised in a small town in Nebraska, with a population of 1,200.  I was pretty much raised like an only child because my sisters were so much older than myself.  I am actually closer in age to my nieces and nephews than I am my sisters.  Right around the time I turned 40 I decided I could not take the cold winters in Nebraska any longer and I moved to Arizona.

How long have you been writing?

I have been writing in some form or another since high school. I started getting serious about it in the 90’s, I became frustrated with trying to get my first book published and put all my manuscripts in the closet.  I pulled them out the winter of 2011. My first book in my Young And Naïve series, Learning To Fall was published in August of 2011. The second in the series (Daddy) was published in January of 2012, closely followed by the third (Wasted Years) in March of 2012.

What was your life like before becoming an author?

Very much like it is today.  I enjoy working in my yard which has a lot of natural desert landscaping with added varieties of agaves and palm trees.  I am kind of a tomboy and have enjoyed motorcycles, quads, boating and horses.

Who or what inspired you to write?

I have always enjoyed reading so it was just a natural thing to start writing my own stories. Nobody in particular inspired me, I guess it was boredom that got me started.

Do you have a specific writing style or genre?

 Romance is my only style although I am considering writing a children’s series as well. There will probably be a lot of horses and dogs in it if I ever get serious.

 Tell me about your latest book?  What’s it about?

My latest book is the last in the Young And Naïve series, Wasted Years. It is about a woman who had been deceived by men to the point she was using them the way they had used her. That is until she met and fell in love with a wonderful man who turned her life around. She becomes a born again Christian.  Life takes an awful turn when her babies are kidnapped.

http://amzn.to/QHiEYJ

What was your favorite part of the book to write?

All of the cute things the children said in Wasted Years were actually said by my children, grandchildren or other relatives. So those were fun things to write and reminisce about.

What was the hardest part to write?

The main character is not always the most upstanding citizen when she is out for revenge and I didn’t want her to be hated by the readers.  But like most humans she also had flaws.

What do you find most rewarding in writing a book?

 When someone actually reads it and discusses it with me.  I love hearing where they are at in the book and what they assume is going to happen next.  Of course holding the printed copy in my hand is by far the best feeling, it is always a very emotional time for me.

Do you have any other books complete or in progress?

I have started a book on reincarnation but my personal life has been so hectic lately I have to admit I have not written a word in a few months.

What are your future plans in regards to writing?

I will continue at a much slower pace than what has taken place this last year. But I still have an itch that will keep me typing away.

Are you listed on the major social networks like facebook, twitter, goodreads, etc…

Yes all of the above, but I have to admit facebook is the best place to keep track of me. The other networks I do not go to daily and sometimes not even weekly.

What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?

Just do it. You will never know until you really give it a try.  With self-publishing or indie publishing it is so easy to get started. There are so many options, you can publish it all or hire experts to help you along the way.

Outside of writing, what is your most favorite thing to do and why?

I love to be outdoors, long walks, boating or traveling. But nothing beats being able to do those with my family.

Anything else you would like to add for future fans and friends.

 Thank you for taking the time to invite me to your blog for this interview. I truly enjoy your friendship and your writings.

 Here is my website; my email address is listed there as well.

 http://marlablowersbooks.com/

————–

 Thank you, Marla.  Always a pleasure to be in your company and I thank you so much for taking time to be a part of my author interview series.  You are truly an inspiration in all that you do and I value your friendship and input in all that we as authors face as we work to make ourselves know.  Good friends to the end.  And one last thing…  “Happy Birthday, to you!” 

