Tags

Dear friends, fans, and colleagues…  As I continue in this new venture into author interviews, I am happy to introduce to you today a beautiful young author, poet, and artist, Solange Nicole. The official release date for her first full-length novel is on August 1, 2012.

About the Author”

I’m from New York originally but Texas is my home now. When I was younger I bounced from school to school while my dad was changing positions in the IT industry. I had always planned to go to college when I finished high school, but it was more for fun than for a vocation. So I’m holding off until I can just leisurely take courses at my own pace. I love getting behind a camera, or singing duets, or jotting down play and movie ideas. I don’t want to limit myself to just writing.

How long have you been writing?

I have been writing stories and manuscripts since 2003. So about nine years, but before that I was always writing poetry and songs and little scribbles about nature.

What was your life like before becoming an author?

Before actually being a published author was interesting, I had tried my hand at selling my art for a while. It was successful on a small scale that I actually sold something. I was very engrossed in my activism campaign MAKE A CHANGE (https://www.facebook.com/MakeAChange2010). I was on the computer every day because there wasn’t much else to do on a remote base in the middle of nowhere. I was so inspired by the movie Milk, that I made my advocacy group. I made t-shirts, bracelets, posters, websites, PSA videos, it was and still is awesome. Right before publishing I became a mother also. My child is partly why I became so motivated to publish my three year old story.

Who or what inspired you to write?

What inspired me to write in general was boredom lol. I wanted to envision a story that had never been told before, or I wanted to imagine I was watching a movie I wanted to be made. One of my teachers inspired me to keep going with it and would introduce me to all these stories and books that were so off syllabus.

 Do you have a specific writing style or genre?

 Actually, I don’t. I tend to write in many different genres. A lot of my stories are sci fi or mystery or horror even. I tried my hand at a straight YA but then I kind of lost what I was writing it for. It’s only recently I took romance serious enough to write a full length novel on. As far as style I tend to write very dark and brooding, and if it’s not dark than it’s quirky and abstract.

 Tell me about your latest book?  What’s it about?

My latest book is called My Beloved Tourniquet. It releases August 1st on all online book stores. The link for right now is http://www.lulu.com/content/paperback-book/my-beloved-tourniquet/13003482 . It’s a modern gothic romance, and for most it would be counted as romantic suspense. Helen is convinced she can never find love, no matter how hard she tries or how reserved she can be she fails to find the right one. Carmen is a dark man with an even darker past who comes to America to leave it all behind. When Helen happens to finally meet Carmen suspicions arise as the man who seems to be too good to be true, is. Carmen can’t help but fall for the lonely woman who brings out the best in him. Just as Carmen feels he can leave his past behind him, it rears its ugly blonde head. Evey can’t stand to lose, nor does she ever like to give up so easily especially on Carmen. All hell breaks when the three worlds collide.

 What was your favorite part of the book to write?

My favorite part would have to be when Helen and Carmen finally meet each other. I love capturing the human emotions and behaviors people go through when they’re trying to feel the other person out. It was enjoyable to watch the scene pan out as it leads up to them finally getting comfortable with each other and allowing themselves to feel something.

 What was the hardest part to write?

Hmmm… that would be the revisions. I’m a perfectionist so when I want something just right I pick at it until it hurts. Certain edits almost had me banging my head on the keyboard it was that frustrating. The worst was trying to write in scenes that were never there in the first place and trying to make it seamless with the rest of the story. Especially a particular scene of Helen… 😉

 What do you find most rewarding in writing a book?

The most rewarding first and foremost is completing it in entirety. It’s one thing to write a story and be done with it, but for it to be polished and totally finished (I feel like I’ve conquered the universe). The awesome part is having someone read it and forget that you wrote it, and have them transported into the world you so meticulously created.

 Do you have any other books complete or in progress?

I have two poetry eBooks out currently, Chocolate Roses Will I Dream and HERE I STAND In Love’s Evil Embrace. They are on Amazon Kindle right now. I plan to make a third ePoetry and possibly then taking all three collections and printing them. Right now, also I am working on the second book in the Beloved Series, Dreams of Poison. The second book will definitely give the readers what they want especially since they’ll be left with a major cliff hanger at the end of book one!

 What are your future plans in regards to writing?

First and foremost would be just to be able to finish the Beloved Series. The longtime dream of having my movies produced is also too a goal of mine. I am really hoping to getting down to penning this lovely LGBTQ story I had in mind as well. Just a short story or novella about two high school teenage boys and their struggle for acceptance from each other and society, and whether or not love will pull them through to the end. I know it sounds cliché and overdone but I want to take a more internal approach to it. Less about action and more about what’s going on in their heads. Despite the fact that I am a woman trying to take on this seemingly foreign aspect of life, I am fully aware of the journey for acceptance and finding oneself.

 Are you listed on the major social networks like facebook, twitter, goodreads, etc…

Yes sir I am. I am on GoodReads, Tumblr, Facebook, Myspace and Blogger. : ) I also have a YouTube channel for the book trailers and teasers I have created for my latest book! Find me under Solange Nicole or Beloved Series!

YouTube TheSolangenicole channel

 

What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?

Don’t give up! It’s a cliché platitude but it’s true! The longer you stick around the more people begin to accept you. All you have to do is try hard enough to make your work, your art count and people will eventually listen. Even if it means you have to get them to listen by going indie! When it doubt, take the Indie route ; )

 Outside of writing, what is your most favorite thing to do and why?

Oh my, that’s tough to say. It’s a three way tie to be honest. The tie goes like this: Photography, Singing, and Dancing (and to squeeze in a fourth acting). Photography because I love capturing moments and emotions that so few others easily find. Singing I have always loved because it’s uplifting and freeing and I love the expression I get through Fine Arts. Dancing and acting because I adore the fine arts and I have been told I do both very well. I used to be obsessed with the movie Honey and Havana Nights. My family would also tell you that you could find me acting out a scene from a musical on any given day.

 Anything else you would like to add for future fans and friends.

Don’t feel like you can’t talk or reach out to someone just because they’ve done something you dream of achieving! I’m human just as any other person so if you have a suggestion or an idea for where to take the series or what kind of poetry I should do next, feel free to email me. I love hearing from my fans and people who want to get to know me more.

—————–

Thank you, Solange.  It was an absolute pleasure to interview you for my blog.  I wish you much success with the release of your new novel series and other works in progress.

