“On Unfaithful Wings” (An Icarus Fell Novel) by Bruce Blake

Contemporary supernatural fantasy

http://bruceblake.wordpress.com/  – http://www.on-unfaithful-wings.com/

Synopsis:

“I was alive, then I was dead, now I’m stuck somewhere in between. My name is Icarus Fell. I am a harvester. The archangel Michael brought me back to collect souls and help them on their way to Heaven–that’s what a harvester does. If I get enough of them before the bad guys do–if I do a good job–I can have my life back. Now people I knew in life are dying, killed by a murderer’s knife, their bodies defiled, and the cops think I’m the killer. I’m not, but I think I know who is. But how does a dead man, a man who no longer exists, stop a psycho? I’m not sure, but I’m going to stop him before everyone I know is dead. I have to stop him before he gets to my son…”

Fantastic Debut

From start to finish, Icarus Fell is one of those characters that you can’t help to care about, faults and all.  Though this was not my usual genre, after the first few pages I was hooked into discovering all the things that happened to him, past and present, and all the obstacles he had to face in order to win back his life and save those whom he desperately loved.  With sharp wit and a little twisted humor, his story is somewhat sad but at the same time inspiring as he struggles to do what he knows is right despite the continuous reminders of the mistakes from his past.

I have to say it is absolutely wonderful how many amazing indie authors I seem to find with the talent to write and entertain on the same level as most traditionally published authors.  This is book is another one.  I highly recommend it as a very good read, and I should also make note here that this is the first book in a series for which I will happily read and review the minute the next book is released.

