Previous last scene;

“Oh my goodness,” she had said almost breathless and excited at the same time, “Mister up and coming future bank executive es muy caliente`.”

—-

  “She thinks I’m hot,” Kenny confessed with some reservation at his following therapy session. On one hand he was proud of the compliment and on the other somewhat ashamed.

“And how do you feel about her?” Dr. Alex Regent stared complacently across his desk before scribbling something on his note pad. Kenny never knew if the man was taking real notes or just doodling to pass the hour.

“I like her okay,” he finally answered calmly. “I think she’s pretty hot too.” He failed to mention three days had passed since they last spoke.

“So is there a problem?” the doctor asked.

“Yes and no.” Kenny was slow on his answer as he felt his therapist eyes rake over him.

“Go on.”

“I don’t know what to do about her.”

“Does she know about you?”

“She knows enough.”

“How much is enough?”

“Look, Dr. Regent…” Kenny felt a surge of unreasonable anger rise in his voice. He took a breath and sat back in the plush dark leather office chair before going on. “She knows what’s important to know.”

“Really?” The doctor’s words seemed so condescending that Kenny almost jumped from the chair and left in a huff. Instead, he simply looked at the man and shook his head with indifference. Sometimes he just hated facing the truth even when he knew it was the right thing to do.

“Yes, really.”

“Do you want to change the subject?”

“No.”

“Then tell me what the problem is.”

“I don’t know what to do about her.”

“I get that, Mr. Jordan. But what I don’t know is what you mean.” The doctor folded his hands together on his desk and stared at him. “Tell me what the problem is so we can figure out what you need to do to resolve it.”

“Okay, the problem…” For a moment, he was hesitant to go on because he wasn’t sure if it was a question or a statement. “The problem is I don’t know what to do about her.”

“As in?”

“As in, she is a great girl, a really beautiful girl, with a great job, a home, and everything that someone in my position should clearly consider being the one.”

“The one?”

“Come on, Doc. The one. The kind of girl a guy could settle with.”

“Are you ready to just settle?”

“I don’t mean it in a bad way,” Kenny said with indifference.

“Do you think marrying would help make you feel complete?”

“Maybe,” Kenny found himself looking around the room before he went on. “Overall, I think I’m a great guy. I’m the right age. I’ve got a great career ahead of me. My life is clean. Mostly.”

“Are you still sober?”

“That’s a dumb question. You know I don’t have a drinking problem.”

“You didn’t answer my question.”

“Yes, I’m still sober. Five years and still no desire to touch the shit.”

“Hmmm…” Dr. Regent took up his pen and began to write. Kenny started to fidget.

“Are we almost done here?”

“You know you can leave any time you want. The issue is facing up to your problems so I can help you figure out a way to resolve them.”

“I don’t think I’m ready to marry. Not right now.”

“Then why do you think you mentioned it?”

“I mentioned it because it’s always in the back of mind and it bugs the hell out of me because I know that is what is expected of me.”

“But is that what you want?”

“Yes. At some point, that is what I want.”

“So let me get this clear.” The doctor leaned forward. “You know you want to get married, someday, but not any time in the near future.”

“Yes.”

“You really like this girl and she seems to have everything you believe you need to have a successful life and marriage.”

“Yes.”

“Then what is the main reason you are having such a difficult time dealing with the possibility of having a successful marriage with this woman that you think is more than right for that future position?”

“You already know the answer to that.”

“Now that is the truth of the situation that I am hoping you are ready to face.” The smile that crossed Dr. Regent’s face was a little more triumphant than Kenny could stand. “So are you ready to start this conversation over from the beginning?”

“No.” There was no expression whatsoever on Kenny’s face as that truth fell out of his mouth without a second thought. “This conversation’s over.”

“Suit yourself,” the doctor said falling back into his own chair seemingly defeated. Kenny was already gone before the words fully left out of his mouth…

